SIAM | Fellows

SIAM Fellows

SIAM Fellows Program. Honor SIAM members who are recognized by their peers as distinguished for their contributions to the discipline. Help make outstanding SIAM members more competitive for awards and honors when they are being compared with colleagues from other disciplines.

SIAM Fellows


Yi Ma | University of California, Berkeley (2020)

For contributions to the theory and algorithms for low-dimensional models and their applications in computer vision and image processing.

Michael C. Mackey | McGill University (2009)

For contributions to dynamics and biology.

Philip Kumar Maini | University of Oxford (2012)

For contributions to mathematical biology.

Andrew J. Majda* | Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University (2009)

For contributions to partial differential equations and their physical applications.

Olvi L. Mangasarian | University of Wisconsin Madison, Retired and University of California San Diego (2011)

For seminal contributions to the theory and algorithms of optimization and applications to machine learning.

Marc Mangel | University of California, Santa Cruz (2013)

For contributions to mathematical biology, including behavioral ecology, conservation biology, fisheries management, and the biology of stem cells.

Thomas A. Manteuffel | University of Colorado at Boulder (2009)

For contributions to iterative methods for linear systems and numerical methods for partial differential equations.

Madhav V. Marathe | Virginia Tech (2018)

For contributions to high performance computing algorithms and software systems for network science and public health epidemiology.

Dan Marchesin | Instituto de Matemática Pura e Aplicada (2009)

For contributions to the theory of partial differential equations and conservation laws.

Steven I. Marcus | University of Maryland, College Park (2009)

For contributions to control and systems theory.

Alison Lesley Marsden | Stanford University (2018)

For contributions to the development and clinical translation of cardiovascular patient-specific modeling, optimization, uncertainty and simulation methodology, and open source software development.

Jerrold E. Marsden* | California Institute of Technology (2009)

For contributions to mechanics, control, and dynamical systems.

José Mario Martínez | State University of Campinas (2024)

For his contributions to the theory, practice, and applications of continuous optimization.

Per-Gunnar Martinsson | University of Texas at Austin (2021)

For contributions to the numerical solution of partial differential equations and to the development of randomized algorithms for matrix computations.

Bernard J. Matkowsky* | Northwestern University (2011)

For contributions to asymptotic and perturbation methods, bifurcation theory, nonlinear dynamics, pattern formation, stochastic dynamical systems and combustion theory.

Anna L. Mazzucato | Penn State University (2021)

For discerning analysis of fundamental problems in partial differential equations and mathematical fluid mechanics including boundary layers, transport, and mixing.

Steve McCormick | University of Colorado Boulder (2010)

For contributions to numerical partial differential equations, especially multigrid and first-order system least-squares methods.

William M. McEneaney | University of California, San Diego (2016)

For contributions to the control for nonlinear systems.

Geoffrey B. McFadden | National Institute of Standards and Technology (2012)

For advances in mathematics applied to fluid dynamics, solidification, and the interaction of the two, using sharp and diffuse interface theories.

Lois Curfman McInnes | Argonne National Laboratory (2017)

For contributions to scalable numerical algorithms and software libraries for solving large-scale scientific and engineering problems.

James McKenna* | Bell Laboratories, Retired (2011)

For mathematical contributions to the underpinnings of telecommunications products and his support of SIAM.

David W. McLaughlin | Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University (2009)

For contributions to dispersive waves and the analysis of behaviors of nonlinear systems.

Joyce R. McLaughlin* | Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (2009)

For contributions to nonlinear analysis in inverse problems.

Volker Mehrmann | Technische Universität Berlin (2011)

For contributions to numerical linear algebra, matrix theory, differential-algebraic equations, mathematical software, and the transfer of knowledge to and from industry.

James Donald Meiss | University of Colorado Boulder (2023)

For contributions to the understanding of the onset of chaos and transport in Hamiltonian and volume-preserving dynamical systems.

Carl D. Meyer | North Carolina State University (2010)

For contributions to theory and applications of linear algebra.

Juan C. Meza | University of California Merced (2019)

For contributions to optimization methods and software applied to challenging real-world problems, technical leadership, and service to the SIAM community.

Igor Mezic | University of California, Santa Barbara (2017)

For sustained innovation at the dynamical systems theory/applications interface; notably for advances in the use of Koopman operator theory.

Michael J. Miksis | Northwestern University (2009)

For contributions to theoretical and computational fluid dynamics, especially interface problems in multiphase flows.

Graeme W. Milton | University of Utah (2009)

For contributions to the modeling and analysis of composite materials.

Robert M. Miura* | New Jersey Institute of Technology (2009)

For contributions to nonlinear wave propagation and mathematical neuroscience.

Bojan Mohar | Simon Fraser University and IMFM (2018)

For contributions to graph theory and computing, in particular structural, topological, and algebraic graph theory.

Cleve B. Moler | MathWorks Inc (2009)

For contributions to numerical analysis and software, including the invention of MATLAB.

Peter B. Monk | University of Delaware (2022)

For contributions to inverse scattering and the development and analysis of finite element methods for problems in acoustics and electromagnetism.

Helen Moore | AstraZeneca (2018)

For impactful industrial application of mathematical modeling in oncology, immunology, and virology. For mentoring, teaching, and leadership.

Cathleen S. Morawetz* | Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University (2009)

For contributions to partial differential equations and applications.

Boris Mordukhovich | Wayne State University (2011)

For contributions to variational analysis, optimization, and optimal control.

Kirsten A. Morris | University of Waterloo (2021)

For contributions to modeling, approximation, and control design for distributed parameter systems.

Bill Morton | University of Oxford Computing Laboratory, Retired (2011)

For contributions to numerical methods for partial differential equations.

Jorge J. Moré | Argonne National Laboratory (2009)

For advances in algorithms and software for continuous optimization.

David B. Mumford | Brown University (2009)

For contributions to pattern theory and the understanding of vision.