SIAM | Fellows

SIAM Fellows

SIAM Fellows Program. Honor SIAM members who are recognized by their peers as distinguished for their contributions to the discipline. Help make outstanding SIAM members more competitive for awards and honors when they are being compared with colleagues from other disciplines.

SIAM Fellows


Irene M. Gamba | The University of Texas at Austin (2012)

For contributions to analytical and numerical methods for statistical transport problems in complex particle systems.

Martin J. Gander | Université de Genève (2020)

For contributions to domain decomposition and time parallel methods.

Paul R. Garabedian* | Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University (2009)

For contributions to partial differential equations and fluid dynamics.

Walter Gautschi | Purdue University, Retired (2012)

For fundamental contributions to the constructive theory of orthogonal polynomials with applications to approximation theory.

David M. Gay | AMPL Optimization, Inc (2020)

For fundamental contributions to optimization theory, modeling languages, and other software tools.

C. William Gear* | NEC Research Institute (2009)

For contributions to numerical methods and software for ordinary differential equations and differential-algebraic equations.

Donald Geman | Johns Hopkins University (2010)

For contributions to stochastic processes, image analysis, and statistical learning.

Alan George | University of Waterloo (2009)

For contributions to sparse matrix computations.

Tryphon T. Georgiou | University of California, Irvine (2021)

For foundational contribution to the theory of robust control and to spectral analysis of time series.

Margot Gerritsen | Stanford University (2018)

For contributions to numerical methods for compositional and thermal fluid flow processes in porous media, ocean dynamics, and digital stewardship.

Roger G. Ghanem | University of Southern California (2019)

For his seminal contributions to the mathematical foundations of uncertainty quantification methods.

Omar Ghattas | The University of Texas at Austin (2014)

For contributions to optimization of systems governed by partial differential equations and leadership to promote computational science and engineering.

John R. Gilbert | University of California Santa Barbara (2010)

For contributions to the development and analysis of algorithms for sparse matrix problems.

Michael B. Giles | University of Oxford (2018)

For contributions to numerical analysis and scientific computing, particularly concerning adjoint methods, stochastic simulation, and Multilevel Monte Carlo.

Philip E. Gill | University of California, San Diego (2014)

For contributions to numerical optimization, linear algebra, and software.

Graham M. L. Gladwell* | University of Waterloo (2009)

For contributions to eigenvalue problems and their applications in vibration theory in engineering.

Leon Glass | McGill University (2009)

For contributions to the understanding of complex rhythms in cardiac and respiratory systems.

George J. Gleghorn* | TRW Space and Technology, Retired (2009)

For contributions to the control of rockets and spacecraft.

James G. Glimm | State University of New York at Stony Brook (2009)

For contributions to operator algebras, partial differential equations, mathematical physics, and especially shock wave theory.

Roland Glowinski* | University of Houston (2009)

For contributions to variational inequalities and fluid and solid mechanics.

Michel X. Goemans | Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2013)

For contributions to combinatorial optimization, and in particular to the design and analysis of approximation algorithms.

Israel Gohberg* | Tel Aviv University (2009)

For contributions to operator theory.

Andrew V. Goldberg | Microsoft Research (2013)

For fundamental contributions in the design, analysis, and implementation of algorithms for network optimization problems.

Kenneth M. Golden | University of Utah (2011)

For extraordinary interdisciplinary work on the mathematics of sea ice.

Donald Goldfarb | Columbia University (2012)

For contributions to nonlinear, discrete, and convex optimization.

Solomon W. Golomb* | University of Southern California (2014)

For contributions to coding theory, data encryption, communications, and mathematical games.

Martin Golubitsky | Ohio State University (2009)

For contributions to nonlinear dynamics and bifurcation theory.

Clóvis Caesar Gonzaga | Federal University of Santa Catarina (2009)

For contributions to interior point methods for continuous optimization.

Alain Goriely | University of Oxford (2018)

For contributions to nonlinear elasticity and theories of biological growth.

Sigal Gottlieb | University of Massachusetts Dartmouth (2019)

For her contribution to strong-stability-preserving time discretizations and other schemes for hyperbolic equations, and for her professional services including those to SIAM and women in mathematics.

Nicholas I. M. Gould | Rutherford Appleton Laboratory (2009)

For contributions to numerical continuous optimization.

Ronald L. Graham* | University of California, San Diego (2009)

For contributions to discrete mathematics and its applications.

Thomas A. Grandine | The Boeing Company (2011)

For contributions in computer-aided geometric design and leadership in industrial mathematics.

Anne Greenbaum | University of Washington (2015)

For contributions to theoretical and numerical linear algebra.

Leslie F. Greengard | Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University (2009)

For creation of the Fast Multipole Method and other fast algorithms.

Chen Greif | The University of British Columbia (2022)

For contributions to scientific computing, especially in numerical linear algebra and its applications.

Andreas Griewank* | Yachay Tech University, School of Mathematical Sciences and Information Technology (2017)

For fundamental contributions to algorithmic differentiation and to iterative methods for nonlinear optimization.

Jerrold R. Griggs | University of South Carolina (2009)

For contributions to combinatorics and graph theory.

Laura Grigori | Inria (2020)

For contributions to numerical linear algebra, including communication-avoiding algorithms.

Martin Groetschel | Technische Universitaet, Matheon, and Zuse-Zentrum Berlin, Germany (2009)

For contributions to combinatorial optimization and discrete mathematics.

William D. Gropp | University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (2011)

For contributions to algorithms and software for high performance scientific computing, including the development of MPI.

John Guckenheimer | Cornell University (2009)

For contributions to theoretical and computational dynamical systems and mathematical neuroscience.

Jean-Luc Guermond | Texas A&M University (2021)

For innovative contributions to computational fluid mechanics and fundamental contributions to the development and teaching of the finite element methods.

Abba B. Gumel | Arizona State University (2022)

For stellar contributions to mathematical biology, particularly the modeling of epidemics, and applications to other public health problems.

Max D. Gunzburger | Florida State University (2009)

For contributions to control of fluids and scientific computing.

Anthony J. Guttmann | The University of Melbourne (2009)

For contributions to statistical mechanics, combinatorics and their connections.