Class of 2024

Class of 2024

SIAM Fellows Program. Honor SIAM members who are recognized by their peers as distinguished for their contributions to the discipline. Help make outstanding SIAM members more competitive for awards and honors when they are being compared with colleagues from other disciplines.

Peter Ashwin | University of Exeter

For contributions to dynamical systems and its application to mathematical biology and climate change.

Heinz Bauschke | University of British Columbia

For contributions in convex analysis, monotone operator theory, fixed point theory, and their applications in optimization.

David Samuel Bindel | Cornell University

For contributions in numerical linear algebra and its innovative use in broad areas of computational science and engineering.

Jie Chen | City University of Hong Kong

For breakthroughs in fundamental limitations of feedback control, system identification, model validation, and delay systems.

Patrick L. Combettes | North Carolina State University

For contributions to the theory and applications of convex optimization, especially proximal methods.

Daniel KráΔΎ | Masaryk University

For fundamental contributions to graph theory, combinatorics and computer science, and for service to the profession.

Hans De Sterck | University of Waterloo

For contributions to scientific computing methods including multilevel and nonlinear solvers, and for exemplary scientific leadership and service to SIAM.

Aaron L. Fogelson | University of Utah

For pioneering work on mathematical modeling and numerical methods for platelet aggregation and blood clotting.

Hélène Frankowska | CNRS and Sorbonne Université

For fundamental and pioneering contributions to optimal control theory and differential inclusions, both deterministic, stochastic, and in Wasserstein spaces.

Michael P. Friedlander | University of British Columbia

For theoretical and applied contributions to convex and nonconvex optimization.

Richard B. Lehoucq | Sandia National Laboratories

For contributions to numerical linear algebra and software, continuum mechanics, nonlocal modeling, applications of probability to optimization, and high-dimensional data analysis.

José Mario Martínez | State University of Campinas

For his contributions to the theory, practice, and applications of continuous optimization.

Deanna Needell | University of California Los Angeles

For contributions to compressed sensing, stochastic optimization, and applied data science.

Cornelis W. Oosterlee | Utrecht University

For outstanding contributions to multigrid methods and financial mathematics, and exceptional service to these research communities.

Art B. Owen | Stanford University

For seminal contributions straddling computational mathematics and statistics.

Fred S. Roberts | Rutgers University

For distinguished research in discrete mathematics, leadership of major research centers, and service to SIAM.

Joachim Rosenthal | Universitat Zurich

For contributions to systems theory, coding theory, and cryptography and for establishing connections between them.

Claudia Sagastizábal | IMECC, Unicamp

For contributions to non-smooth optimization and applications to engineering, and numerical methods for optimization.

Carola-Bibiane Schönlieb | University of Cambridge

For important contributions to mathematical imaging, inverse problems, and applied partial differential equations, as well as outstanding leadership and service.

Mark S. Squillante | IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center

For fundamental contributions to the mathematical analysis, modeling, control and optimization of stochastic systems and their applications.

Luis Nunes Vicente | Lehigh University

For ground-breaking contributions to derivative-free and bilevel optimization, and exemplary leadership in editorial and organizational service to the SIAM community.

Layne Terry Watson | Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

For pioneering the theoretical development, algorithm design, software implementation, and application of homotopy methods.

Nathaniel Whitaker | University of Massachusetts

For significant achievements in broadening participation in mathematics and important contributions to multiple fields in applied mathematics, especially fluid mechanics.

Chao Yang | Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

For contributions in the development of novel algorithms and software for eigenvalue problems, and applications of algorithms and software to solve challenging scientific problems.

Ulrike Meier Yang | Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

For pioneering work on parallel algebraic multigrid and software, and broad impact on high-performance computing.

Lexing Ying | Stanford University

For contributions in numerical analysis and scientific computing.