AN18 Prize Lecturers

Prize Lecturers

Éva Tardos
AWM-SIAM Sonia Kovalevsky Lecture

Learning and Efficiency of Outcomes in Games

Éva Tardos, Cornell University, USA

Éva Tardos is a Jacob Gould Schurman Professor of Computer Science at Cornell University, and she served as chair of the Computer Science Department from 2006 to 2010. She received her BA and PhD from Eötvös University in Budapest. She joined the faculty at Cornell University in 1989. Her research interest is algorithms and algorithmic game theory. She is most known for her work on network-flow algorithms and quantifying the efficiency of selfish routing. Tardos has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering, the National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and is an external member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences. She is the recipient of a number of fellowships and awards including the Packard Fellowship, the Gödel Prize, Dantzig Prize, Fulkerson Prize, ETACS prize, and the IEEE Technical Achievement Award. She is editor-in-chief of the Journal of the ACM, has been editor-in-chief of the SIAM Journal on Computing, and editor of several other journals including Combinatorica. She has served as program committee member for many conferences, and as program committee chair for the ACM-SIAM Symposium on Discrete Algorithms (1996), as well as FOCS 2005, and EC13. Tardos is a Fellow of SIAM.

Charles F. Van Loan
The John von Neumann Lecture

Untangling Random Polygons and Other Things

Charles F. Van Loan, Cornell University, USA

Charles F. Van Loan is currently Professor Emeritus of Computer Science and Dean of the Faculty at Cornell University. He earned his PhD in 1973 from the University of Michigan under the supervision of Cleve Moler. Since joining Cornell University in 1975, he has worked in the numerical linear algebra area with a focus on eigenvalue, least square, and linear system problems. Kronecker products also figure in much of his research. Van Loan is the author of several textbooks including Matrix Computations, 4th Edition, with Gene H. Golub; Handbook for Matrix Computations with Thomas F. Coleman; Computational Frameworks for the Fast Fourier Transform; Introduction to Scientific Computing: A Matrix-Vector Approach Using MATLAB; and Insight Through Computing: A MATLAB Introduction to Computational Science and Engineering with K.-Y. Daisy Fan. Van Loan has been a member of SIAM for over 40 years and a Fellow of SIAM since 2009.

L. Pamela Cook
Julian Cole Lectureship

Modeling of Complex Fluids: Wormlike Micellar Solutions, Polymers and Mucins

L. Pamela Cook, University of Delaware, USA

L. Pamela Cook is UNIDEL Professor of Mathematical Sciences at the University of Delaware, where she has served as Chair of the Department of Mathematical Sciences, as Associate Dean for Research and Planning of the College of Arts and Sciences, and currently serves as Associate Dean of Engineering for Faculty Affairs. She completed her PhD in Applied Mathematics at Cornell University; received a NATO Postdoctoral Fellowship to Utrecht University; then joined the faculty at UCLA, where she became associate professor with tenure. She has held visiting positions at California Institute of Technology, the University of Maryland, and the Institute for Mathematics and its Applications and the School of Mathematics at the University of Minnesota. 

Cook's current research is on mathematical modeling and prediction of flow properties of complex fluids, especially transiently networked fluids. Her mathematical interests are in modeling, nonlinear partial differential equations, asymptotics and perturbations; her earlier work was in transonic aerodynamics, flight near the speed of sound. Cook is an inaugural Fellow of SIAM, an Associate Fellow of the American Institute for Aeronautics and Astronautics, and a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. She has served as editor-in-chief of the SIAM Journal on Applied Mathematics; as secretary, as vice president for publications, and as president of SIAM.

Volker Mehrmann
W. T. and Idalia Reid Prize Lecture

Modeling, Simulation, and Control of Differential Algebraic Port-Hamilton Systems

Volker Mehrmann, Technische Universtät Berlin, Germany

Volker Mehrmann received his Diploma in mathematics, his PhD, and his habilitation (1987) from Universität Bielefeld. He spent research years at Kent State University, the University of Wisconsin, and IBM Research Center in Heidelberg. After two years as visiting full professor at RWTH Aachen, he was a full professor at Technische Universität Chemnitz (1993-2000). Since then he has been a full professor at Technische Universität Berlin. Mehrmann is a member of acatech (the National Academy of Science and Engineering) and Academia Europaea. He has been president of GAMM (International Association of Applied Mathematics and Mechanics), vice president of the European Mathematical Society, chair of the MATHEON Research Center and editor of its publication, Mathematics for Key Technologies, and chair of the Einstein Center for Mathematics Berlin. He is editor of several journals in numerical analysis and editor-in-chief of Linear Algebra and its Applications. Mehrmann is a Fellow of SIAM.

Thomas Hales
I. E. Block Community Lecture

How Paradoxes Shape Mathematics and Give Us Self-Verifying Computer Programs

Thomas Hales, University of Pittsburgh, USA

Thomas Hales is the Mellon Professor of Mathematics at the University of Pittsburgh. He received BS and MS degrees from Stanford University, a Tripos Part III from Cambridge University, and a PhD from Princeton University in representation theory under R. P. Langlands. He has held postdoctoral and faculty appointments at the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute (MSRI), Harvard University, the University of Chicago, the Institute for Advanced Study, and the University of Michigan. In 1998, Hales proved Kepler’s 1611 conjecture on the most efficient way to stack oranges. During the following 18 years, Hales led the Flyspeck project, culminating in a formal computer proof of the result, published in 2017. Hales, a Fellow of the American Mathematical Society, won the Chauvenet Prize in 2003 and the Lester R. Ford Award in 2008.